The Un-Edited Tales of a Married Working 20 Something Year Old Mother: Toddler Tales

I have been fooling myself into thinking that I love this age. I do not. At just shy of 16 months I feel like we are getting a very early taste of the toddler twos. And it doesn’t taste good.

 

20140213-094224.jpg

The Selfie taken by my daughter when she magically managed to hijack my phone

Don’t get me wrong. I love how interactive she is, I love that she mimics what we say, has a strong imagination, can play effortlessly with herself and others. I do not love the opinions, the tantrums, the yelling, the throwing of the sippy cup (as well as other various food pieces) and the new found clingyness she gets to whomever she has momentarily decided to be her favorite.
This stage has also been put the most weight on my marriage. Nap time has dwindled down to (sometimes) two naps a day and awake time is spent running, leaping and using the word “No” far too frequently. Getting on pajamas some nights feels more like training for an Olympic marathon and patience for just about everything can wear a little thin. There is less time to connect, less mom and dad time. Which makes it all the more important for play dates with the grandparents and movie dinner dates for us.
If this is a taste of what to come- then at least we are learning how to weather the storm as a team. But damn if it isn’t exhausting.

I love my family. I love my daughter. That goes without saying. Watching her try and run around the park, chasing the dog may be the actual reason I am on this earth. Why there are not museums full of pictures of toddlers trying to attempt…well anything really… is beyond me. Mona Lisa has nothing on my kid’s smile.
Toddlerhood is not for the faint of heart. I find myself crossing my fingers I get a nice long morning nap out of her while secretly hoping she wakes up so we can keep playing and cuddling. It is one big roller coaster that puts knots in your stomach in line and keeps you coming back for more!
*Note: I wrote this a couple of weeks ago and I can say that as we approach one and a half things are getting easier and much more fun. She is now able to communicate with us about what book she wants to read, when she is done with dinner, and even call the dog. With this comes more opinions but at least I am not throwing rocks in dark trying to figure her out!*

 

Leave a reply

