2014// The Year to Aspire

Happy New Year, and a late Happy Birthday to me!I wanted to wait before writing this post until I turned the big 2-8. Looking back over the last few years is an interesting one for me. They have been a whirlwind of excitement and change. There has been a Christmas engagement, followed by a November wedding, followed by a January pregnancy, and last year’s holidays were spent as a new mom. Needless to say- it’s been a ride.

I would love to say life is now settling down, and maybe compared to these huge milestones it is, but there is always some movement, always some change, always something happening. Which is the exciting part, right?!

Jessica Garvin from Little Baby Garvin (my favorite mom blog) hosted a link up with some other lovely ladies. They asked bloggers to respond to one or more of the following:
1. What is something you want to change, or a goal you want to set for the New Year & what is your plan for making it happen?
2. Many people chose a word to reflect on, live by or aspire to for the New Year. Let us know your word, how you decided upon it & how you plan to incorporate it into 2014.
3. I will make 2014 count by…
As mentioned, I don’t really do resolutions. But I love the idea of picking a word and running with it. So I gave it a lot of thought over my (partially tipsy) birthday weekend. What do I want 2014 and my 28th year to stand for? What do I want to achieve, push for, strive to be?

How difficult to sum it up in a word!

But I came to- a word in the question itself- Aspire.

Aspire: direct one’s hopes or ambitions toward achieving something.

There are so many things I have always wanted to achieve. Organize the house and focus on living a balanced life. Finish my degree and work on a career path that is more suited toward my own dreams. Be a mom that worries about the food my daughter eats, the books she reads, and the fun we have as a family.

This is the year I take my dreams and run with them. Take my hopes, wants, wishes, ideas… and go balls to the wall.

2014 is the year to Aspire toward greatness, in all ways it manifests itself.

Cheers!

Leave a reply

