Menu: First Course Pizza

My friend and I have a fabulous trend. We both chase after the kid, while attempting to make homemade pizza and pig out in front of pre-recorded episodes of Project Runway while the hubs is out.

Why pizza? The endless possibilities! I literally walked into the Trader Joe’s and started grabbing at things.

This is what I ended up with in my shopping cart: two Trader Joe’s pizza dough, pizza sauce, arugula, mozzarella cheese, raspberries, pita bead, watermelon, mushrooms, an onion, salad dressing, garbanzo beans, and artichoke hearts. I clearly had no plan.

But that is the beauty of pizza. Throw it all on and see what happens.

What happened was magical.

My go to pizza is caramelized onions with mushrooms and a sprinkle of pancetta. (Note that above I clearly forgot the pancetta. My husband: Where is the meat?!)

And our newest experiment: Artichoke Hummus spread under a salad of arugula with fresh mozzarella, watermelon and heirloom tomatoes with a light coating of Goddess Dressing. Fabulous.

I have deemed the salad pizza (similar to a Piadine: flatbread with salad on top) as the “first course” pizza.20130824-162003.jpg

So easy, so quick, so yummy. And so beautiful. I heart heirloom tomatoes. With a passion.

If you have not experimented with Trader Joe’s pizza dough go now. No really, right now. I like to let mine sit out for a bit and we rarely attempt to roll it into an actual circle.

Okay, officially hungry. Happy eating!

Salad Pizza with Watermelon and Heirloom Tomatoes

(Again, not an exact recipe, so not my style!)

Cook pizza dough per package instructions. Coat with melted garlic butter when removed from the oven.

Spread homemade or store bought hummus. (Mine was homemade: 2 cans garbanzo beans, 1 cup(ish) greek yogurt, drizzle olive oil, 4 artichoke hearts, seasoning to taste.)

Top with salad: Arugula. Cherry sized balls of fresh mozzarella, halved. Watermelon slices, cubed. 1 large heirloom tomato, chunked. Tossed slightly with Trader Joe’s Goddess dressing.

Enjoy!

Leave a reply

