Dinner Inspiration: Spicy Shrimp Tacos

20130709-224224.jpg, dinner inspiration, jaimee shrimp tacos, shrimp tacos

So very proud of myself. Tonight I managed to complete 3 items on my Happiness List. I cooked an amazing dinner, checked an item off my Pinterest List, and enjoyed the company of one of my top 3 favorite people. Aren’t I accomplished for a Tuesday!

I am always looking for easy recipes that get me out of a cooking rut. We seem to rotate the same few items, and occasionally I throw in a pasta (and by throw in I literally mean throw in whatever random ingredients are left over).

We love Mexican food in this house and I would say eat something involving a tortilla at least twice a week. We do the usual enchiladas, tacos with rotisserrie chicken, burritos. But tonight I decided to mix it up and throw together a little shrimp.

Warning: This is by NO means a recipe. I literally searched “Shrimp Taco” checked out some pictures and figured I could do that! The result: Spicy goodness!

Half pound (serving 3 for dinner) of shrimp in store-bought Baja Marinade sautéed over medium heat with a dash of red chile flakes. Topped with chopped cilantro, cherry tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, basic bag of cole slaw mix and chipotle sauce. Served on a warmed Chipotle Tortilla. (Chipotle Sauce is a can of Chipotle Peppers in Adobo Sauce, puree in food processor and mixed with sour cream to taste). Served with a side of refried beans. 

Don’t say I didn’t warn you. No measuring here! I have a belief that cooking should be easy and simple. When I see a recipe with more than 10 ingredients for dinner I feel overwhelmed. A “half a teaspoon” of anything seems ridiculous, but I digress…

These easy, thrown together tacos were fabulous, as well was my company! Now time to let my food finish settling with a little crappy TV.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Dinner Inspiration: Spicy Shrimp Tacos

  1. Pingback: Weekly Distract | LIVWITHROSES

Leave a reply

