Being Fab (& Getting Fit) Summer’s Top 5 Tips

I did it. I finally… after way longer then I am going to admit…made it back to the gym.  Okay, okay to offer full disclosure, I am not sure exactly how long it has been. Let’s just say this. The last time I went I was visibly pregnant and my daughter is now 9 months old. Not to say I have been completely lazy. I stayed very active during my entire pregnancy, taking lots of walks and hikes. My post baby life has been busy, and my fitness routine has lagged to say the least. But after coming to terms that my post-baby self is never coming back (and that’s okay!) I realized my health needs to become a priority. Here are the top 5 ways I plan on getting (and staying) fit and fab this summer, and all year-long!
1.       Choose obtainable goals
Pinterest fitness boards upset me. I see a model quality body with a headline along the lines of “the 3 minute routine that will get you these abs” and we all know that is crap. If there were some magic 3 minute workout that allowed me to still pig out on In & Out burgers and have abs of steel, trust me, I would be all for it. But the truth is you have to put in the time and the work. Seeing these pictures can be discouraging, but they don’t have to be.  Make sure you are setting goals you can actually achieve. Start simple and build up. For inspiration my current fitness goal is to build my leg and knee strength (from a prior injury) and in the processes tone my cute little butt and thighs for shorts season.  As you get going check in with yourself (that means being honest with yourself!) and reassess your goals
2.       Make a game plan
I am a planner. I need to know what is going on, when, where, and how. So walking blindly into a gym can be overwhelming. For me, classes are a huge help. I can plan my day around an express class at lunch time, or an evening class after work. I have an instructor that is teaching me correct form, and pushing me to do my best. But if classes (or the gym) aren’t for you, make sure you have a plan of how to make the most out of your work out. Create a special play list that will get you moving, keep a list of YouTube video on your phone or iPod to follow along to, do a little research of how to properly use equipment, or moves you can do without before you get started. Once the game plan is in place, your workout will go a lot smoother and you will get the most out of your time. Below are a few links that can help!
3.       Bring it into the kitchen…
Being fit should also mean being healthy. And a workout routine isn’t going to get you there alone. Make sure you are bringing a healthy change to your lifestyle. Summer is such a great time to revamp the way you eat with all of the fresh fruits and produce at your finger tips. Start with a green smoothie, a summer salad, or a healthy pasta dish, just make sure you aren’t sabotaging your workout with bad eating habits. You will be surprised with how easy it is to maintain great eating habits once you make it a habit.
4.       …Take it outside…
Walk, hike, ride a bike, go on a canoe trip. Find way to make the great outdoors a part of your workout routine, and part of your lifestyle. There is nothing like a little fresh air to lift your mood and calm your stresses. Grab a friend and get moving. Enjoying the beauty around you will make you forget you are also getting an amazing workout. (Nothing says butt lift like a hike uphill.) Grab your camera and snap some instagram worthy shots as you go!
5.       …And leave the self-doubt at the door.
When I am not good at something I tend to stop doing it. Worst. Habit. Ever. Screw karma because I think self-doubt is the real bitch. When you start doubting your abilities, you limit yourself and set yourself back. You may not be reaching your goals as quickly as you like (time to check in with yourself) or have missed a step or two on your game plan. But that doesn’t spell failure and that doesn’t mean it’s time to give up. It means it is time to get back on track. The only person stopping you is you. So you pigged out one night on burgers, fries, and two desserts. Today is a new day and past mistakes only matter in the past. Push through it and forward and check your doubt at the door.
(And for those of you that are muttering to yourselves, yea yea I have heard this all before (like I very often said)…then I challenge you, what are you waiting for?! Game on bitches!)
For more fabulously fit information and inspiration check out these great resources!
Leave a reply

