Baking for the Holidays

We are doing zero entertaining this holiday season. Which is both a huge relief and a bit sad. I love playing hostess. But I love the thought of our home staying a safe haven from the holiday madness more. Our own little family of three (and the dog) retreat.

But that will not stop me from baking up a storm (assuming I can find the time) and bringing something to the table other then the wine.

Christmas Eve’s tradition is fresh crab from Humboldt along with local raviolis and malfattis (yes… these are coming from a liquor store! So good!) What a perfect menu for some fresh made, butter loaded rolls. These Cloverleaf Rolls sound easy enough and make a ton!

Christmas morning will be spent traveling from one family to the next. But I may not be able to help myself from making some Apple Pie Cinnamon Rolls. Yum. My grandmother froze me some apples in all the sugary goodness which I defrosted Friday morning. I am hoping they are still good for some evening baking…?? If not I guess that will mean an (unfortunate) trip to the store!

Christmas dinner is more family with the traditional holiday menu: bird and sides. But I am always a fan of mixing it up and bringing unique and unexpected items to the table. Over the past years when we have hosted I have made a fabulous roasted beet salad, Bacon and Pomegranate Brussels Sprouts, and Cheesecake in a Jar. This year I am torn between more Brussels Sprouts with Sweet Potato Hash or an Apple Crisp Ice Cream. Decisions.

Any additions to the table that may spark my interest?

20131223-143613.jpg

Not sure if I will get around to some last minute Christmas posts so… From my family to yours I hope everyone has a happy holiday season!

 

One thought on “Baking for the Holidays

  1. Totally skimped on baking this year… its a little sad. I think we get so many sweets at work and from P’s school that I get burnt out on sugar by the time I’m home… hah.

    Those rolls sound awesome, they’d probably be easy to make early and pop in the oven as needed too. Life Hack!

    Lets get together and switch some wine soon. Merry Christmas!

Leave a reply

